Skip to content

Season for Tipulidae

30 September 2011

A bit long since I wrote anything here purely because I rely on a USB interweb connection that ran out of credit!

This bootiful lady crane-fly is of a species I cannot quite identify – possibly Tipula maxima, but my book, Small Woodland Creatures, says they have wings at right angles and are seen May-September, however I have never seen Crane-flies – as far as I can recall – outside the period August-September-October. The females with pointed abdomens, flit over the grass laying their eggs wich hatch into leatherjackets – their grubs. It seems to have antennae folded back – this is a tricky identification for me! Usually I only like to post after I have some definite idea. Hmmm…

From → In Norfolk, Insects

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

