Skip to content

Contrails and Climate Change…

8 July 2011

The International Journal of Climatology, DOI: 10.1002/joc.2392

has an article about how the vapour trails of bombers in the II World War changed the weather over SE England by lowering the temperature as much as 0.8 c.  This is a remarkable bit of research. A popular version of the article is here in New Scientist –

http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn20667-second-world-war-bombers-changed-the-weather.html

From → Climate, Weather

2 Comments
  1. I just came across this post while TagSurfing. I too write the occational post about Wheather Climate Change over on my blog mostly about economics and theology. Check it out and thanks for being part of this important conversation.

  2. Thanks! It exercises me a lot… I have reduced to amount I fly (which was never much) even though it means I will never go to many places I would love to visit. Will indeed visit your blog!

Leave a Reply

