Skip to content

Beetle found on the way to work…

17 June 2011

This beetle is a Dorcus parallelipipedus female. I picked her up by the railway bridge in York Way on her back and I accidentally kicked the poor thing. She was rather damaged – broken legs & if she had antenna they were concealed and I did not want to bother her. I thought she was dead – it seems that is a behavioural trick as with some moths. I cleaned her a bit with a drop of water & the corner of a tissue and she must have flown off when I left her on a window sill.

Lesser stag beetle


From → London, York Way

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

